Total newbie would like to try some Karate. Advice?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Nightfall, Aug 23, 2012.

1. Nightfall

Nightfall New Member

Hello guys,

first post here. Nice to meet you.

I am a 27 year old man with a passion for Japanese culture, and lately I've been thinking of picking up a martial art. I am particularly interested in the artistic and philosophical side of it rather than the "agonistic" side, so I was aiming to find a traditional Karate school (Shorei-Kan).

However, I have a couple of serious doubts:

- Is it too late at my age?
    - The above question is quite important when considering that my body is not that well trained; I am 179cm tall and weight around 93kg. I have good muscles but definitely more than enough fat in my belly, and considering I NEVER practiced sports in a constant manner I also lack endurance and mobility. Would I need to spend some months in the gym before starting a traditional Karate course, in your opinion?

Thanks a lot for your advice,

- Marco

Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  2. John Titchen

John Titchen Still Learning Supporter

Before starting any training, if you have not exercised regularly for a while, I'd advise you to have a check up with your physician.

At 27 you are still young with enormous potential. You could go to the gym, but the best way to get fit for Karate is to go to a class and train, then practise the solo exercises on your own at home.

All Karate clubs are different, even in the same style and organisation. I'd suggest you have a look at a few near you before deciding which one you'd like to try.

3. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Yeah, everyone starts as a beginner dude. A good instructor will push you to your limits, but never beyond them.

4. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter

Not at all. Just go along and get started.

5. Blade96

Blade96 shotokan karateka