Multi Sports Training

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Frodocious, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Frodocious

Frodocious She who MUST be obeyed! Moderator Supporter

Morning all!

Not really a newbie here, but I thought this might be the best place to put this thread, so here goes...

How do those of you who do a variety of sports, with conflicting requirements, plan and prioritise your training?

I'm at a point in my life where I am doing a variety of sports for fun. I'll never be brilliant at any of them (and don't really care about this), but I do want to get the most out of my participation in them. The problem is that there is conflict between the energy and strength requirements for some of them. For example, I've started bouldering again, which requires a relatively low body weight to maximise progress and this conflicts with my power lifting. I also want to get back into BJJ at some point and perhaps, eventually, do a triathlon. I'm also horse riding occasionally and running (hamstring allowing) and cycling. I will be getting back to snowboarding again, later in the year. I have a general plan of activity/training, but am interested to see how folks manage their training/activity participation. I also have to be careful that I don't overdo upper body work as my shoulders are not the best!

axelb likes this.
  2. icefield

icefield Valued Member

Do you competitively compete in any of the below
    1) powerlifting
    2) bjj
    3) bouldering
    4) running
    5) cycling

Is so which ones or which ones will you be looking at competing in in the future?

3. Frodocious

I have no real plans to compete at the moment. I might consider doing a powerlifting meet at some point in the future, once my lifts are back up to a decent level. I'm currently just training/participating for fun and general health.

4. icefield

icefield Valued Member