Any tips to recover from a ligament tear

Discussion in 'Injuries and Prevention' started by brisrocket, Apr 18, 2013.

1. brisrocket

brisrocket Taekwondo instructor in Brisbane Australia

Hiya,
    Looking to hear your experiences, tips and tricks with recovering from torn ankle ligaments.

Last week, I rolled my ankle (heard cracking and felt a heap of pain). Scans show a grade 2 sprain (moderate ligament tearing) to the ATL (refer ankle ligament diagram).

I know I'll need to be off training for a while, but want to get the best possible outcome for repair and restoring abilities, movement, strength and speed.

I'm elevating, taking anti-inflamatories, strapping when using it and practising balancing and minimal movements while avoiding any pain (all this advised by my physio).

I'd love to hear your experiences & tips please :)

2. querist

querist MAP Resident Linguist?

First, talk to your doctor. I am a doctor, but I'm not YOUR doctor. Your doctor is much more familiar with your case than I can ever be over the Internet.

Now...

With any ligament tear, you are looking at several MONTHS recovery time because ligaments do not have the generous blood supply that muscles have. The advice that your physiotherapist gave you is sound, but in my opinion is lacking some important information. I trust that your physiotherapist gave you some exercises to perform to strengthen the muscles that help stabilize and support the ankle. Do those exercises EXACTLY as instructed.

You should know the difference between 'real' pain from damage and the 'burn' you feel when working muscles hard (caused by lactic acid buildup in the anaerobic energy cycle). STOP on 'real' pain. Don't try to "push through it" or any other such nonsense. "Real" pain means that damage has already happened.

If your physio did not give you exercises yet, ask why.

3. philosoraptor

philosoraptor carnivore in a top hat Supporter

I most just drank a lot and watched Spongebob and things turned out ok.