Your thoughts and comments on this silat clip please?

Discussion in 'Silat' started by TruthForce, Jun 12, 2013.

1. TruthForce

TruthForce New Member

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

TruthForce, welcome to MAP.

Tell us a little about yourserf please.

Is it you in the video, do you do Silat etc.

3. TruthForce

TruthForce New Member

Hi

Its me in the video clip :)

And yes i train in silat as well as other south east asian arts.

4. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Truthforce,

I haven't had a chance to check out the clip yet, but we actually have a specific silat forum here. I'll move this thread over there, so you can get feedback from the resident silat players.

5. MadMonk108

MadMonk108 JKD/Kali Instructor

It's hard to tell exactly what you're doing because the lights are off.

6. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

That occurred to me too. It was difficult to see.

I'm no expert in silat, but I've watched a friend (and former poster here at MAP) practice his blend of silat and gung fu. And I recognize the same sorts of movements. I'm glad to see you working a heavy bag with these patterns. What do you feel you learned from it? Anything?

7. TruthForce

TruthForce New Member

It was my mistake, i often train in low light when im just mucking around with some of the forms etc. Find it helps encourage the sensitivity, much like being partialy sighted. In future i will film my practice/muck around sessions with the lights turned on.

8. TruthForce

TruthForce New Member

Hi

Yes its the Kun Tao element ive learned coming out. Its, to the best of my knowlege, very similar to traditional kung fu (which ive never actualy studied).

Ive studied some other internal chinese martial arts too as well as philipino and several different silat styles.

Silat for me, has bridged the gap between styles and sytems and alowed for less thought and more feel, especially regarding footwork.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2013
  9. nasigoreng