Your prefered style

Discussion in 'Karate' started by JimmyUK, Apr 7, 2006.

1. JimmyUK

JimmyUK New Member

ok, I am lucky enough to have a choice of two styles of karate in my local area, but I am unsure what to go with.

I am a complete beginner to karate so I am after your opinions on which style you prefer from the two and why?

The choices of clubs are:

Okinawan Goju Ryu karate

Shotokan karate

I have been along to watch both clubs in action and impressed with each but still unsure what to go with, whats your experience?

I look forward to your advice, thanks.

2. chrispy

chrispy The Hunter

What were the people and the instructors like?

Don't forget to look at that kind of thing too as if you follow through to black belt it will be Years of training and you're best off training with an instructor that teaches in a manner that makes it easy for you to learn AND that you get along with enough that you are having fun even when training itself hits a rough patch.

3. Haduken

Haduken Valued Member

ok.. i am a bit biased, but I would say go for the goju. To be perfectly honest it depends massively on what you wantto learn... and even more on the instructors, I am sure most people would tell you to try them both a few times and get a feel for the class. In general, the shotokan will most likely be sport competition Karate orientated, so lots of WUKO style point scoring. Not my cup of tea, but if you want to compete and enjoy that type of training then go for it, as you very unlikely to get much competitions in goju. Okinawan Goju especially, shys away from competition and sporting applications, but you will probably get a more hollistic martial art, including throing, grappling, clinch work, multiples, weapons training, and heavy contact, close quatrers sparring.

4. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter