Why do you train?

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by stephenk, Oct 2, 2009.

1. stephenk

stephenk Valued Member

So, why do you train?

I think it's probably not an easy or obvious question.

Most people start for self-defense or something like that. But, it seems clear that training for 2-6 hours a week for an event which may or may not happen in your lifetime (and when it does it probably will not be fatal) is a pretty bad return on investment.

That being said, training in a martial art which does not, at a minimum, provide the ability to skillfully act martially seems odd as well.

So it seems that there's either a balance, a contradiction, or some sort of synthesis.

How do you feel about it?

2. deivu

deivu Valued Member

This post has been done before, but screw it I'll answer it. I started training for self-defense and discipline I also wanted to be a certified bad ass. Once I realized my bad assery would not be accomplished I continued to train because I liked it. I liked the drills, my instructor , the system and I like it as an outlet. i used to be a very angry teenager. Martial arts gave me a place to go and vent my frustration. It also kept me out of trouble. While most of my friends went on to get in trouble with the law, I had something to take up my time.

I train now because I enjoy it, I like the physicality and the joy of punching someone in da face every now and again. I still like the drills and people I train with. While I know I am not as good as a trained "fighter" I am confident I can handle myself. Plus I don't want to be in a cage with another person, I'm too pretty, :).. At the end of the day it is fun for me. Its entertaining and a good stress reliever. I don't want to be a certified bad ass or a super assassin. I don't do it for that, because that is unrealistic. Things like that do not have a place in my life.

3. 2E0WHN

2E0WHN Valued Member

It's better than a bus?

4. Dhalsim-on

Dhalsim-on Banned Banned