Which dojo?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by dotson83, Feb 17, 2013.

1. dotson83

dotson83 New Member

I am new to martial arts (or anything like it) but have always wanted to take it ( I'm 29 ). I decided to find one to take the other day but need some advice on which one. There are a good number of schools around here but most have the "mcdojo" signs I have read about, or are too expensive. I have narrowed it down between two schools:

One school teaches Karate from various styles apparently. An excerpt from an article about the instructor says "he combines Shotokan, Kempo, ****o-ryu and two forms of Taekwondo". He was the US karate champion at one point and is in the karate hall of fame. His name is Cliff Yawn. Here is a news article about him http://savannahnow.com/effingham-now/2009-12-26/martial-arts-family-tradition#.USAcGSfyqRt

The other place teaches something I have never heard of called "taekidokwon". I can't find any info about it on the Internet but the guy says he is only the 3rd generation instructor and it is new. He supposedly won the gold metal for TKD in the 2000 pan am games and is in 4 different hall of fames ( I cant verify any of this using the Internet ). His name is Rob "superfoot" Ludgate.

My goal for martial arts is to learn self defense, and get in shape. Plus I think it would be fun.

So, who do you guys think I should choose?

2. Vitty

Vitty Valued Member

Welcome to MAP

I can't help you too much with which would be better to take as I've never heard of taekidokwon, I can't find anything about Mr. Ludgate being in multiple halls of fame but I found a list of his accomplishments here:
    http://usblackbelts.8m.com/about.html

Not sure if it helps much.

3. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo