What did James Mitose really teach William Chow?

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by HongKongFooey, May 15, 2006.

1. HongKongFooey

HongKongFooey Valued Member

Hello all.

I am a student of American Kenpo. I have read the history of the relationship between Professor Chow and James Mitose, from Ed Parker's point of view and from the point of view of Al Tracy. Depending on who's version you read, Professor Chow either learned all he knew about Kenpo from James Mitose(Tracy's version), learned a little bit of Mitose's Kenpo and combined that information with martial arts skills he had already possessed(Parker's version), or he was taught absolutly nothing by Mitose. (William Chow lost interview, Blackbelt mag)

This just makes the history of Kenpo in America more confusing. Any ideas on who has the correct history? If Grand Master Kuoha is reading this, I would really like to read you point of view on this, since you trained with Professor Chow for a very long time.

All opinions are welcome.

Dave

2. dbmasters

dbmasters Valued Member

I guess my first inclination is to believe what either Mitose or Chow said, anyone other than those two is either speculation or rumor. Though Chow would sometimes contradict himself so that makes it hard too.

I agree tho, the history and lineage paths of Kenpo is a skewed one at best. :)

3. kempojosh

kempojosh Valued Member

so who was the better martial artist and why?

other than chow, who were the other top students of mitose? and what lineages did they start? i know that with chow you have emparado(spelling?) who trained gascon on down. or is this the shaky part?

4. dbmasters

dbmasters Valued Member

5. gmkuoha

gmkuoha Valued Member

Dear Dave: Sorry for taking so long as I am so busy that I don't get to read these forums much, but hopefully this will answer some of your questions.