What competitions allow striking,throws & grappling but with safety gear/low contact?

Discussion in 'MMA' started by ronki23, Jun 20, 2011.

1. ronki23

ronki23 Valued Member

Hey guys, i've been kickboxing on-and-off since 2005-the kickboxing is based on Lau Gar Kuen and we do both sport karate (points) and kickboxing (kicks above waist/no knees or elbows). Anyway, due to frustration of lack of progress (Sport karate record: 3-8-0 Kickboxing: 1-8-0), I quit (that and bad relations with many of the other clubs' instructors meaning I can't fight in comps with them there without being humiliated).

Since last year I have been training in Tenjin-Shinyo-Ryu- from September to January and have restarted a month ago. Since April I have also started Judo and Wrestling and love it.

The problem is I miss kickboxing too much! Considering I can't compete in it AND it's my weakness-is there any MMA-esque light contact comps that combine strikes,throws and grappling? I don't mind not competing-sparring is enough for me!

Afaik, these competitions allow 2 out of 3 things but NOT all 3:

Karate: Strikes and throws
    Hapkido: Strikes and throws
    San Shou: Strikes and throws
    Judo: Throws and grappling
    BJJ: Grappling and throws
    Catch Wrestling

Only Sport JJ allows all 3.

I want to know if there is anything pre-MMA that I can do so I can get used to getting hit/throwing opponent as a counter instead of hiding behind my guard!

Also, preferably something allowing headgear to prevent the dreaded cauliflower ear!

I live in Andover, South of England-if you could point me in the right direction it would be great. I am willing to travel as far as Salisbury,Basingstoke or Winchester

2. tonyv107

tonyv107 Valued Member

Like you said, Sport JJ is an option but it depends entirely on the format. I'm not a fan of light contact fighting/point sparring which is what you'll mostly see in Sport JJ.