Training advice needed - further tips

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by leeroyjenkins, Oct 27, 2015.

1. leeroyjenkins

leeroyjenkins Valued Member

Hi all,

Relatively new here, I'm hoping someone can help me out here and give me some pointers. I try to find as much as I can through my classes and YT videos but thought I would sound the forum out for some expert advice and a critique

I have been training thai for 2 years. I took a year out due to various financial / location reasons, nothing to do with the sport. I have been back for a year and found that my skills never really declined in that year off I just got a bit rusty. A typical week would be as follows:

Monday - Class - Pads. 2 minute rounds focusing on power on the first circuit and speed on the second. Great for conditioning and tehcnique. Can't knock the pads!

Tuesday - Solo - Usually go in myself to gym and boot the heavy bag for some conditioning. I aim for 45 mins - 1 hour varying between bagwork and matwork doing planks, leg raises, tricep dips etc

Wednesday - Class - Techniques and sparring. Usually alternate between learning teep defense, kick defense etc and other techniques. Followed by some sparring usually starting light then progressively harder towards the end. Sometimes the sparring can get out of hand and it turns into a slug fest instead of honing techniques just learned

Thursday - night off or go an smash weights

Friday - Class - Strength and conditioning. Very intense 1.5 hour circuits consisisting of bags, press ups, pads. Usually 2 mins on the bag followed by 20 leg raises, then onto next bag station. This is my fav class as its great for power. I feel weak if I miss this class and have an empty hole in my stomach

sat - day off

Sun - day off