Total Body Defence

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Taffyleigh, Aug 2, 2007.

1. Taffyleigh

Taffyleigh Valued Member

Hi guys/girls, i'm new to the site, but more than willing to join any subjects on the go. I train in a martial art style called Goshinkwai, which is a self defence system created in sunny South Wales. The organisation i am with is called Total Body Defence, which is a group of instructors who broke away from the original Goshinkwai organisation, due to a few disagreements between the heads of the association, even though both organisations are still in each others pockets, so to speak. Our organisation teaches junior classes, which we think is the future, but the Goshinkwai disagree with training kids, which is a shame. I have been training for about 12 years, and help instruct both juniors and seniors. I am still brown belt at the moment but due to take my Dan grading in the next few months. The club I attend is is in Risca, South Wales and there are other clubs in Ebbw Vale, Cwmbran and Newport. The club has regular seminars in which we have had instructors from other styles of martial art. Because we are a self defence style we are always open to learn techniques from other styles and use them to our advantage. We are due to release an instructional dvd in the next 2 weeks, and there are clips on Youtube if you are interested, look under total body defence or under the main instructors name Alun Williams. :woo:

2. Tom@Foresight

Tom@Foresight Valued Member

3. Sparx

Sparx Valued Member

Hi Taffyleigh, I'm from up north and I was wondering could you tell me what Goshinkwai/ Total Body Defence consists of and some history? (Does it come from Wales? I have always wondered if any Martial Arts have been born in Wales)

Oh and Welcome to MAP

4. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

Are the Goshinkwai Dave Turton's group? Should be good stuff.

Mitch

5. Emil

Emil Valued Member

Croeso Taffy!