Too many injuries?

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by SteveP, Feb 14, 2016.

1. SteveP

SteveP Valued Member

I've been training for about 9 months now and I always come away from class with some sort of bruising or ache and pain but it's not this I'm concerned about, it's the other injuries, the other 4 during that time; I've very nearly broken my ankle, had quite a bad groin strain, badly sprained my thumb and badly sprained my foot last Thursday which resulted in a trip to A&E.

The academy where I train is very safety conscious, I want to get that out there, and the instructor is very vigilant on keeping space between people when sparring and paring people up appropriately. This is not the problem and there aren't that many other guys there getting injured. I don't know if it's me being unlucky or what.

I've been training once a week during this 9 months and that has been a bit on and off at times due to these injuries but I've been making progress. I thought I was starting to finally be able to control the situation a little more as my experience grows a bit but then the sprained thumb and foot have both happened in the last couple of weeks and have both been painful, especially the foot.

I've read quite a bit lately about people stopping BJJ training due to injuries and ending up with wrecked knees and other joints. I've got to be honest I wasn't too bothered about all these stories before as I know a few injuries are a part of any sort of regular training but this last injury has made me really consider packing it in as it's affected my business, my home life responsibilities and other hobbies these last few days and almost ruined a holiday that I've got planned in the next few weeks.