Tohei and Ki Society

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by bealtine, Jun 18, 2007.

1. bealtine

bealtine Valued Member

I know this is probably raking up some old(ish) coals but I wonder why is Ki society aikido held in such disdain by "other" aikido practitioners?

Is it something to do with the man or something with the message?

Oh yeah this isn't a troll post either :)

My background is mainly CMA and I do a lot of aikido as I enjoy the mix.

2. 0gmios

0gmios Valued Member

I would say the man, due to what I read in Roy Suenaka's Complete Aikido (he was there after the split and I didn't like what Tohei did and said). I would say the art due to what I have seen. Didn't think much of it, and didn't feel much either (I politely feel over as was expected of me and never returned). I will say that Tohei's techniques were good, for him, but not for others.

Regards,

3. koyo

koyo Passed away, but always remembered. RIP.

Many traditional aikidoka feel that it has lost the martial effectiveness of the original art by over emphasising ki. I myself have seen what can only be called ridiculous demonstrations by some modern exponents of shin shin toitsu.

regards koyo
    I was taken to task by a number of the original aikido shihan for calling it ki aikido. I was told it is not aikido it is Shin shin toitsu (new new way)
    I think this thread has the potential to become very heated.I have been training in traditional aikido for forty plus years many of these spent cross training in other tarditional japanese arts.For me PERSONALY ki society has taken the art in the wrong direction. (see thread)

Last edited: Jun 18, 2007
  4. 0gmios

0gmios Valued Member

Again I post,

http://video.google.com.au/videoplay?docid=-948814286351794180

Regards,

5. koyo

The fellow himself looked quite well balanced BUT presented countless openings for attack and the uke's (gasping in pain and shock) NEVER mounted a single commited attack.

Sorry definately NOT for me.

regards koyo