[TMA][forms] local variations on terminology

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Fish Of Doom, Jul 5, 2012.

1. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

so i've noticed that there seem to be a huge amount of variations on terms for forms, and that sometimes these vary from association to association, and other times, interestingly, from country to country.

JMA are an exception, since 'kata' literally translates to form or shape, and JMA people tend to say only those.

in KMA you have TKD's 'hyung'/'tul'/'poomsae' distinction. i believe other KMA (kuk sool?) use hyung.

in CMA you have 'xing' (shape/form, same character as kata, iirc) and 'taolu' ('way-road', more or less, if i'm not mistaken)

in english, 'form' is usually employed, but TKD forms are referred to as 'patterns'. spanish and portuguese tend to see the use of 'forma' (form), but when i was living in paraguay, where i started training, TKD people tended to refer to them as 'fórmulas' (formulae). then again, they also said 'tekondo' (probably due to non-fluent korean teachers), and mangled the spanish grammar when naming certain things like the roundhouse kick :p. additionally, in brazil, at least one kung fu org (the first one there, in fact) uses the term 'kachi'/'katchi' (unsure of romanization, think it's cantonese, dunno the characters), apparently meaning 'frame' or 'structure', due to a preference from the head sifu, and i've heard it used by someone from an entirely different art when referring to kung fu forms. lastly, i've seen two french people from different styles refer to their forms simply as 'tao' ('way'), and a third one use 'taolu'.

i find this peculiar and quite interesting. has anyone else encountered anything like this? perhaps with another MA term?

...yes, i'm bored.

2. Griffin

Griffin Valued Member

A local Freestyle (karate) group i visit occasionaly uses the term "Yuksu" for their Bunkai/oyo practices.