starting my own studio - buying existing TMA business

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by 333kenshin, Jan 9, 2020.

1. 333kenshin

333kenshin New Member

Hi,
    I'm a black belt karate instructor looking to opening a studio of my own to teach full time. I live in a large city that is already pretty densely packed with martial arts schools, so competition is a big concern.

At the same time, I believe many traditional martial arts schools are struggling financially and in a slow-motion death spiral as the popularity of MMA rises and as modern tech, social media, and culture makes "traditional" studios hard to relate to, especially if run by a 1st-generation Korean or Japanese master with weak English.

As such, I would like to identify and approach such struggling businesses to buy as a basis for launching my own studio. Being younger, US-born, comfortable with tech, and with broad enough experience in the world (lived abroad twice) to articulate the case for traditional martial arts to younger students and their parents, I think I can rejuvenating some of these struggling older studios, while still respecting the traditional teaching style of the old masters.

The challenges:
    - how to identify such struggling schools
    - how to approach said school in a way that won't offend their sensibilities

Any suggestions would be welcome.
    Thanks!
    -Dave

Last edited: Jan 9, 2020
  2. Monkey_Magic

Monkey_Magic Well-Known Member

Hi Dave,

Welcome to MAP! Do you have any background in marketing or business generally?

Also, I wonder if you might find it easier to start your own school rather than approaching existing schools? Why not start by building up your own school?

ned and Dead_pool like this.
  3. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

Turning around an already failing school by being more American but less qualified doesn't seem like a solid plan.

What would be your unique selling point?

ned likes this.