Sparring Strategy

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by Oldi, Jan 6, 2014.

1. Oldi

Oldi Valued Member

I've been training Muay Thai for 3 months now and have just had my first proper sparring session. It was intense, but enjoyable in its own painful way. Now as a noob I know I have a long way to go before I can think about anything beyond the basics, but it has got me really interested in sparring strategy.

My coach said at the outset that through trial and painful error we would find what worked for us, and sure enough I did. I'm tall and rangy but not very strong, and my heavier, stronger partner just battered through my guard until I realised the lead hook, jab and teep were my friends where blocking really wasn't. This was really interesting because I couldn't imagine when I would use the teep until I needed it!

So I've been reading a bit about different strategies and was looking for recommendations on interesting resources, thoughts on what work for you etc. I've found this article on How to Beat a Shorter Boxer and especially this one on Drowning Style really interesting. Are they directly applicable to thai boxing or is the thai arsenal so different as to negate these tactics? I've had a read through the sticky on different styles too, which was fascinating.

It's all for academic interest at this point, but thanks for your thoughts!

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

3. fire cobra

fire cobra Valued Member

When approaching Muay Thai sparring its all about working to the scoring rule set so try to use off balancing techniques(teep a good one) kicks to mid section as they score well and long knee,most camps in Thailand would make a tall fighter into a knee machine,no matter what tactics you fight with always be aware of the scores or you wont win anything in Muay Thai.:)

4. raaeoh

raaeoh never tell me the odds