Sparring = Brain Damage?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Hazmatac, Apr 24, 2012.

1. Hazmatac

Hazmatac Valued Member

What are your thoughts on this idea?

In particular, does light, medium, or hard sparring mean you will get brain damage (in a way which matters)

2. Kurtka Jerker

Kurtka Jerker Valued Member

I think the contact level isn't so important as the protective equipment and ruleset.
    Lots of hits and lots of buffeting of the head in a short period of time=lots of small, cumulative concussions.
    I'm not an expert but everything I've always heard is that concussions, even to the point of a knockout are unlikely to cause lasting damage, so long as things are stopped and allowed to heal without further trauma, however small concussions are much more likely to cause lasting damage if incurred regularly and in large numbers.

3. John R. Gambit

John R. Gambit The 'Rona Wrangler

I've concussed myself a lot and look how I turned out. *drool*

4. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

I've heard simliar stuff. I'll see if I can find the article I read it from but it said knockouts actually cause less damage in mma fights than a tko for the reasons you said.

5. John R. Gambit

6. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

Wait, hasn't this question been addressed in a previous thread?
    Although I'm no expert on the subject (I'm far from being a neuroscientist or a doctor of any kind), I have taken the time to do some research. So I'll bring up some points that I made in your last thread as well as some added extras. What do you think: should I quit martial arts?

Brain damage is usually the result of a blow that is hard enough to swivel the neck or 'snap' it back. This can cause the brain to slosh around and hit the interior of the skull causing it to bruise.

[​IMG]