Situational Awareness.

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by Dan93, Aug 24, 2018.

1. Dan93

Dan93 Valued Member

I came across this video, liked it and thought I would share it..

Personally this is something try to train every time I am out, just out of habit ie. observation and retaining details of people and places, walking wide on corners, checking surroundings and covering pin when using ATM's ect. Almost a game now TBH.

What are peoples thoughts on the video and how do you personally try to hone your own situational awareness,? In my time training Krav Maga they did do a variety of drills to promote situational awareness some of which were actually pretty good but it is something we should be doing regardless on our own on a daily basis.

axelb likes this.
  2. axelb

axelb Master of Office Chair Fu

The video covers a lot of what I self taught to deal with frequent conflict/incidents in my teens, and early 20s.

I haven't had anything like this taught in marital arts classes, but discussions with fellow students outside of class and in our personal training we would agree on these concepts.

It's a good training tool that I have found to help me pick up on events quickly.

My Dad explained similar to me in advanced motor cycle observing; you practice taking in every bit of information actively, over time it becomes second nature and whilst that occurs you are also able to make more detailed observations and predictions, similar to the fighter pilot in the video.

I expect that the observations can be refined in some ways, i.e. if you are looking for potential threats you take in information on such body language and discount passive behaviour, whereas a robber looking for a victim would use the same basis of skill to primarily observe passive behaviour of un observant people and subcobsciously discount others.

I expect there is other ways to refine it, if someone is looking to sell something, or maybe just determine someone to get directions.