Shyness

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Music Man, Jan 2, 2016.

1. Music Man

Music Man Valued Member

So here is an off topic. Ever since I was a kid I have had terrible shyness with women. I really struggle with approaching women and asking women for their phone numbers and asking them out on a date. For some reason I have always been this way.

I guess Im a bit of an oxymoron . Im a musician and live performer. I really don't get stage fright and things like that. Although sometimes I do feel self conscious on stage and get stuck in my head when Im performing. But its usually not super bad. But when it comes to women Im super shy.

This whole topic has been on my mind the last few days because the other day I managed to ask a very beautiful women for her phone number. Sadly she had a boyfriend, but the fact that I asked was a major accomplishment for me.

I've been single for a long time and sadly I really believe that it's because of my shyness and inability to approach womem. Don't get my wrong, Im not whining about it. Im actually posting about it to see if anyone has any advice on overcoming what I call "terminal shyness"?

Even being anonymous on an fourm I feel silly and self-conscious talking about it. But I believe that if no one ever asks any questions they don't get any answers.

Thanks

2. Archibald

Archibald A little koala

I've never directly approached women and asked for their number because it's always felt like just walking up and going "here I am, what do you think?" Lol.

I find it's a lot easier to catch an eye or whatever and just be my funny charming self - if the social cues are there then I'll ask for a number.

If you're good on stage then you obviously have a lot of confidence, that's what women find attractive so parley that into your presence at the bar, pay attention to who is interested in who and talk accordingly.