Seriously considering taking up Rapid Arnis !!!

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by Guvnor, Aug 17, 2009.

1. Guvnor

Guvnor Valued Member

Hi guys

As the title says, currently I am seriously considering taking up rapid arnis something to supplement my JJJ training. I would like some advice from you guys as I am a complete novice in this field and have very limited knowledge regarding it, well I have tried to read up as much as possible regarding FMA, a lot of it make sense and a lot of it does not. I guess that is something that will come with time.

What I wanted to ask was when I go for a class what are the things I should look for in a rapid arnis class e.t.c? I am seriously confused and if it my post does sound like a mumble jumble then I do appologise,thanks.

Guvnor

2. EmptyHandGuy

EmptyHandGuy Valued Member

Its a pity you didn't ask this a month or so back as Pat O Malley used to post on here!!!

3. embra

embra Valued Member

I have been training in Rapid Arnis in Scotland for about a year now. I can give you a basic rundown, but it would be a whole lot better if Pat O'Malley was describing it, not me. I know exactly what you mean by some of FMA making sense and some does not - FMA seems to be an extremly diverse world, where terminology is not always consistently applied.

In a very general sense, I find it difficult to tie down core concepts in FMA apart from an exercise called Hubud, which is not unlike pushing hands of TaiChiChuan or Wing Chun.

Pat created Rapid Arnis based on a lot of experience of FMA in the UK and the Phillipines, competing successfully in a lot of competitions. Rapid Arnis is predominantly based on Doce Pares (GB-UK can explain the many details of Doce Pares), at least in terms of stick work.