Questions about my rate of progression

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by madmax52, Aug 18, 2014.

1. madmax52

madmax52 New Member

So we recently started a TKD school in Northern Afghanistan at one of the camps here. Our instructor has a 2nd degree black belt in AMAI TKD and working on his 2nd degree black belt in WTF TKD. I feel like I am progressing pretty fast, possibly too fast? I've been doing this for about 3 months now and I have just received my blue belt. We mostly work on forms and technique..ie..punches and kicks, and using re breakable boards. At this point I am proficient with Taeguks 1-3 and starting 4 tomorrow. We can't do any contact sparring because we don't have the gear for it. I've watched some videos of other blue belt tests on youtube and there seems to be a lot more to those tests than ours. I guess I'm wondering what I should expect if I decide to pursue this more when I get home later in the year. We have class 3 nights a week for an hour then some of us work with the instructor during down time or on off days.

2. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

Blue belt in 3 months? - I doubt you're that good. Could be wrong, but it is crazy fast.

3. madmax52

madmax52 New Member

So as a blue belt what do I need to be proficient at? Like I said, in the OP maybe promoting too fast. What are some of the things I can be working on on my own to get myself ready for going to a different school when I get home?

4. LemonSloth

LemonSloth Laugh and grow fat!

Whatever the guy who runs your club says you need to be able to do (and at what level).