Purpose of "chambered" hand in forms

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by callsignfuzzy, Nov 1, 2013.

1. callsignfuzzy

callsignfuzzy Is not a number!

Hey, folks. For some background, my first system was a karate system, and I have limited personal experience with the Chinese martial arts, save for a few years of infrequent Wing Chun training. That said, one of my focuses on these systems lately has been form application. Obviously, the Okinawan/Japanese systems are more my wheelhouse, which is why I'm posting a question here :)

In karate forms (kata), it's common to have one hand pulling back to the hip or ribs while the other hand delivers another technique. The former, in Japanese, is called "hikite", or "pulling hand". In many places it's taught as a "chambering" position, readying for another technique and adding some counter-rotation to the non-hikite hand, but some of the forms analysts that I respect the most point out that this can be a terribly impractical motion. Instead, the idea is that the pulling hand is holding on to something- there's a brief explanation on this blog:

http://www.karatebyjesse.com/3-wide...of-modern-karate-that-you-need-to-know-today/

I'm wondering if this application, that of pulling the opponent into the strike with a "chambering" motion, is common in the Chinese disciplines. I see some examples of that motion in these videos:

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5x9_vDRUds"]Shaolin Long Fist 1 Form with Sifu Romain - YouTube[/ame]

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yH4hcyhzf_0"]Arrow Hand - YouTube[/ame]

I'm mostly curious because karate is supposed to have some roots in the Chinese martial arts. Anyway, I look forward to your responses.

2. clfsean

clfsean Mo Lum Yat Ga

It depends, like most things, in my experience.