Priorities and Compromises

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by philosoraptor, Nov 12, 2012.

1. philosoraptor

philosoraptor carnivore in a top hat Supporter

I've been practicing BJJ for about 3 years now, and I'm addicted. I'm not very good, but I love it and practice usually about once a day - I guess what I'm saying is it's become a big part of my life. I love the intricacy, I love the complexity, I love what it does for my body and I love the people I meet. I've started cross training in judo even to help my takedowns, but I'm still just completely in love with BJJ. Bjj is basically just jreat.

So then, the other huge part of my life is science. It looks like I'm a shoe in for a PhD program, with a professor I really get along with - unlike many researchers, he doesn't mind his students working on a wide variety of taxa, and potentially I could publish on fish, frogs and ants. I realize this doesn't sound like a big deal but for me it's totally :love:.

The only problem is that the university is out in the middle of nowhere. The only BJJ I could find was the university club, which meets 5 times a week. Good schedule, but the teacher is a four stripe blue belt, and they only occasionally have a purple belt come to teach class. An hour away, there's a gym where a black belt teaches, but I suspect that I would only be able to get there once or twice a week. And I couldn't even find any judo :(