preserving a lineage vs. evolution

Discussion in 'Silat' started by Rogin, Apr 14, 2004.

1. Rogin

Rogin New Member

I'm a beginner (well, pre-beginner) in Silat Serak. In my research I've found a lot of contention between the De Thouars brothers. I'd like to hear your opinions on the importance of preserving the authenticity of an art vs. allowing for an organic series of changes.
    It's important to know that you aren't being taught by some hack making up stuff as they go along, but with the right intention, isn't it possible for an artform to adjust to the conditions they thrive in. Aren't the martial arts derived experimentation and adaptation to one's environment in the first place?

2. Wali

Wali Valued Member

Hi Ronin,

This is a very contentious issue in this day and age. While it is important to adapt a system to the environment it is being practiced/used under, it is also important to keep the essence of the system intact, as to preserve the art itself.

For example, some silat systems may be very ground oriented (Harimau), and taking away the ground aspects because the terrain in the west is different to that in Sumatra would effectively sstop it being Harimau. However, fighting EXACTLY like the people in Sumatra would is also unrealistic, as they didn't design the system with concrete floors in mind!

I think a good teacher will strike a balance between preserving the essence and principles of the art, without compromising the authenticity. Silat has evolved over the years, as different invading forces attacked the country. It is only natural that as it gains popularity in the West, further natural evolution takes place. Sometimes the evolution is for the better, and at times for the worse!

The one things Silat can do without is the anymosity between different teachers/styles.

Regards,
    Wali

3. masterfinger

masterfinger New Member

Hello Rogin,