Nihon goshin aikido

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by jollycock, Nov 30, 2008.

1. jollycock

jollycock Valued Member

Has anyone studying this style used it to defend themselves or sparred with some one who resisted your techniques?I ask because there is a NGA dojo near me.

2. ptguitarguy

ptguitarguy Valued Member

I am currently studying NGA. I am currently a Ni-kyu in the testing process for my I-kyu. I am just entering my 5th year of training. I also train outside the dojo with 4-5 guys who have an eclectic background (about once a month for me while the others are usually there most sundays for 3 hours). One participant is a Karate (Isshin-ryu) shodan and has extensive experience with Brazilian JJ (10 years I believe...I just don't know his belt level there and don't want to misspeak), one is a professional bouncer with 4 years experience in To Shin Do Ninjitsu and is at my level of NGA. Others are NGA trained at various levels.

Our Sunday training is as "real world" as we can make it without having too high a risk of injury. That is not so say that we don't see our share of inadvertant shiners and contusions however. As I stated, one of the participants is a bouncer while another is a former state prison guard and the karate/BJJ man is a former MMA fighter.