NHS England: TEDx Talk

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by aikiwolfie, May 12, 2014.

1. aikiwolfie

aikiwolfie ... Supporter

Here's one for the English amongst us. Watch the video and share how much of this you see happening on the ground.

http://youtu.be/Cz5dl9fhj7o

2. Late for dinner

Late for dinner Valued Member

This has been up here before as a previous thread....

Personally I am not sure what to say. I have been providing NHS services for various governments for the last 12 years as a private provider. That is until lately. I gave up my NHS contract in April (and a lot of cash) as I disapproved of the administrative nightmare that the NHS has become.

What I see is a move towards a homogenised service which will put people through a process and tell them at the end that they have been provided with quality medical care. Unfortunately it is more like we are being lined up like cattle at the abatoir and equally we are in for a surprise.

I am not sure that the NHS is being privatised any more than it was. Now what you are seeing is a new form of ''Big Brother'' with the marriage of Corporations and the State. I think that Marx had something very critical to say about this.

So from one private business man no longer involved in the NHS I would have to say that business involvment in the NHS just got 1 piece smaller. Does that fit with your speakers thesis?

LFD

3. aikiwolfie

aikiwolfie ... Supporter

What about the NHS of today vs the NHS pre-Tony Blair? And are you in a position to compare and contrast with Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland?

4. John Titchen

John Titchen Still Learning Supporter

As a patient regularly using NHS GP and hospital services I can't say I noticed any difference between my experiences in England 1993-1998 and 2001-date and Scotland 1998-2001.

5. jorvik

jorvik Valued Member