Newbie teaching a class

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Hapuka, Jun 23, 2015.

1. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

Right, so I did post this originally on my Mau Rakau blog, but since I need advice I've decided to post a separate thread.

So I don't know if this has happened to anyone else one in their training but I have a bit of a situation where my tutor is unable to come all the time to Mau Rakau because he works a high stress job. So sometimes I'm left to run the class (but thankfully not by myself). Although I'm only a beginner, my other classmates seem to appreciate my style of teaching and they appear to be learning. I don't like coming up with stuff on the spot, and I don't like running something with me being as inexperienced as I am in the style. So tonight I focused on basic sparring principles that I have learnt from Boxing and Muay Thai over the years such as footwork, distance control and looking for openings. I feel a bit bad because I'm not exactly the best fighter and yet I'm teaching fighting. I'm simply going with concepts that I have learnt from youtube videos (like the dog brothers), practiced at home and from experience. In other words, winging it.

We had a good spar though at the end with our Rakau. I don't know if I'm doing the right thing or not, our club isn't asking for payments from practitioners at the moment so I don't as bad but I still feel bad for not being as experienced as I wish I was.

2. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

When you say you're a beginner, what exactly do you mean?

3. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

A bit under a year. But I have about 7 years on and off prior in Boxing, Muay Thai and ITF Taekwon-do. I've just started training in Boxing and Muay Thai again after a 2 year layoff due to a major injury. So I'm a tad rusty.

4. Nachi

Nachi Valued Member Supporter