New to MA and searching Styles

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by jewel_of_buddha, Jan 17, 2006.

1. jewel_of_buddha

jewel_of_buddha Valued Member

Ive already started a post about this topic under another section, but I guess it belongs here. Im new to martial arts and am researching styles. Right now Im researching Kung Fu and am going to see a school today that practices Choy Li Fut. I got some good advice telling me to visit other schools for myself so I can see whats out there.

Im also wondering is it common for people to start in one style, learn it and then learn a new style?

Heres the link to my other post on this topic. http://www.martialartsplanet.com/forums/showthread.php?p=744894#post744894

2. dianhsuhe

dianhsuhe Co-Founder: Glow-Do

yup

It is pretty common to start with a foundation art then cross-train once you have a good foundation... I recommend getting at least to 1st Degree black belt before doing this however-

If you are lucky you will find a well rounded system that has more material after black-belt than before... :D

Cheers!

3. Davey Bones

Davey Bones New Member

4. jewel_of_buddha

Yeah it does, thanks for the link. I found a picture of the teacher there too, helps me know what to expect cause Im a little tiny bit nervous. :p

5. elnan

elnan Valued Member

Hi
    If you dont like kung fu, or are insecure if its what you want. You could list up what you would like to gain from MA.
    And if you want to compete as you advance. You can choose between
    Fullcontact
    Semicontact
    Pointfights
    grappling
    patterns
    breaking stuff..
    Maby theres something more, but Im sure someone else could tell you.
    EDIT: And by the way, everybody had their first time going to a gym. So nothing to be nervous about :)

6. jewel_of_buddha