New to Kempo.

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by tw0scoops, Mar 9, 2006.

1. tw0scoops

tw0scoops New Member

I'm actually new to Martial Arts period. 24 yrs old...hope I'm not too old to start. I'm going to start taking a Okinowan(spelling?) Kempo with a mix of Brazilian Ju-jitsu. Can any1 give me an thoughts on this combination? Can any1 give me some insight into what these systems involve(i know BJJ is mostly submissions and locks? And how practical it is in the "real" world?

I was looking into MT, but the closest gym I could find was a 45 min drive. Plus I keep hearing that MT can be bad for your shins and joints. I might like to try MT at some point, but maybe when I can find a closer gym.

I'm looking for a challenge and since graduating college, just cross-training and weight lifting has ben getting kinda slow. I need more of a physical challenge(I used to be a swimmer).

2. dbmasters

dbmasters Valued Member

Oh jeez, BJJ is probably one of the most practical in the real world (IMHO)...there are lots of great standup martial artists, that, once on the ground, don't know what to do...a mix of standup and ground fighting is great.

3. Colin Linz

Colin Linz Valued Member

Welcome to the martial arts. Your never too old to start, 25 years old is still quite young. I’m sorry I can’t comment much on your selected styles as I know little about either of them. I will say, and I know that many people will disagree, that possibly two styles as a beginner may be too confusing. If you do train in both styles remember not to practice bjj in kempo or visa versa, or tell one teacher he is wrong because the other teacher says something else. Give them both time so that you understand what it is they are teaching, don’t think that something is useless because you can’t do it. This is often not the techniques fault, but rather the person’s lack of understanding of the technique.

4. tw0scoops

tw0scoops New Member