Need help -stiff arms Newbee Question.

Discussion in 'Judo' started by 40k, Sep 18, 2013.

1. 40k

40k New Member

Hi,
    Been doin judo for 6 months. I have a problem in Randori turning in for throws. This is due to my uki locking his arms out and I cannot turn in for a technique.

Any help appreciated. Sorry if this has been asked before.

Ta.

2. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

Theres a few approaches to this issue.
    Ignoring the timing one the main issue is that he has the same number of grips in you, that you have on him, before turning in you need to dominate the grip fight.

3. 40k

40k New Member

Can you simplify please?, I have just bought judo masterclass Grips book. Would this be a good starting point. As I said, I'm a beginner lol.

4. Dead_pool

It might well be a good place to start.

Essentially if you have a mutual grip (one sleeve, and one elbow each) then no-one has the mechanical advantage, the aim of grip fighting is to give you that mechanical leverage advantage so that it is easier to control the Uke.

The more grips you have on them the better
    The less grips they have on you the better
    The more 'inside control' (nearer the spine) you have the better

So for example if they have a single collar grip, and you break that grip, and regrip their collar whilst keeping hold of there sleeve,
    then you will have 2 grips, they will have No grips, = you have better control

Often they ill then grip your elbow with there rear hand -
    Then You will have 2 grips, they will have one grip, So again you win

But even for that one collar grip, your hand is nearer their spine then theirs is to your spine, so your single grip is much better then theirs, so again you win.

Make sense?

Ill try and find some videos, but looking on youtube for judo grip fighting is a good start.

5. 40k

40k New Member