need help going down a couple of weight classes

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by flippedout6, Nov 7, 2003.

1. flippedout6

flippedout6 New Member

hi im new to boxing

boxed for more than a month now and somehow i need to lose weight so that i can fight people in a lower class

right now im in light heavy weight class and i want to drop to middle wieght

i am 5' 8" and weight 184

i know that sounds heavy but i have a short and stocky build

i did track and lift lots of weights last year so does the muscle mass just weight a lot more than fat

and the problem is no matter what i do i cant shedd the pounds off

my friend is taller and looks a bit huskier than me but weights a lot less why is that ?

so are there any remedies aside from road work - fasting / and wearing more clothing to sweat more

2. zun

zun New Member

You're boxing for one month and already you're fighting???

Best way to lose weight - get the flu. Those kg's/pounds just drop off. :)

Sorry dude. Only sure way to lose fat/weight is the hard way.

Otherwise you'll pay for it in the ring. I've watched guys sweat it in the sauna, only drink coffee, etc - get knocked out in the ring.

When's your fight?

3. flippedout6

flippedout6 New Member

my fights gonna be on the 16th of nov.

against a really tall person who wieghts the same as me - but because he's taller his punches in close distance are not as fast as mine since im short than him and he has less muscle because of his hight

i find it hard to knock down someone who is a lot taller than me - being that i always have to stretch more in order to hit thier head

but i figured i planned this out and give him lots of body blows until his jaw finally drops or do u have a better sugestion

any would help

4. zun

zun New Member

Go for his kidneys. It'll hurt like hell after a whle and he won't be able to bend over.

When he pulls his guard down, use hooks for his jaw. It will stun him. If you want to knock out quickly - go for the temple.