Missing Gradings

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Llamageddon, Jun 27, 2006.

1. Llamageddon

Llamageddon MAP's weird cousin Supporter

Been a bit peeved recently. First off I'm not one of these people who wants to rush through their grades at every possible point, but I have to miss an extra grading cos I'm stuck in the north. Story as follows:

Finish first year of uni, move back to north for summer (for hopefully the last time), miss my grading (fair enough), was down there this weekend and got to train much to my delight and was told of an extra summer grading. Thing is it's going to be a logistical and economic nightmare to get from York to Swindon for half 2 on a sunday. Just can't do it. And that's really ****ed me off. I used to be a green belt (6th kyu) in Shotokan but had to stop for family reasons, I've been training hard for 7 months and know the 7th kyu syllabus inside out, and half of the 6th kyu syllabus, and have to miss another chance to regain my belt!

Not only that, because I had to rejoin an association the chief sensei is going to have to assess me. If I'm not allowed to grade to green (or whatever level I'm at by september) I'm going to be really annoyed.

I'm sure just about everyone has had a similar experience in whatever MA they do, but God damnit! I always seem to be in the wrong place at the wrong time... :bang:

Ok, rant over now.

2. Sam

Sam Absent-ish member

Dude don't worry about it, Myself and many of my club memebers have missed gradings not due to lack of the knowledge of the grade itself but wrong time wrong place scenario.
    You know you can do it, your sensei knows you can do it, so what if that path takes a bit longer to walk....more time to enjoy the scenery.

3. prowla

prowla Valued Member

Who decided there's a clock ticking?
    I've missed two gradings because my son got provisional grades and I said I wouldn't go ahead of him.
    I had 3-6 months out before and after a knee op.