Losing my faith in Wing Chun?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Jonny Chee, Mar 4, 2007.

1. Jonny Chee

Jonny Chee Valued Member

Hi all. I have been training Wing Chun for about 4 and 1/2 years now (with a 6 month gap due to illness) and feel I could be losing faith in the system.

My instructor is very good and teaches a realistic and practical approach and works the class hard physically. It is certainly a very good Wing Chun class. I train 3 times a week, twice in class and once privately. My main reason for training is for realistic self defence.

The problem I have is that I still don't have 100% faith that the techniques I have learned would work for me in a real live encounter! There is very little pressure testing or sparring of any sort in my class, most techniques are practiced either in the air or with a very compliant partner. I also find the footwork far too rigid and unflexible. I do however think the centre line principles are second to none.

I have started cross training with submission grappling (for two months so far) and am thoroughly enjoying that, though it is very rough in comparison! I also weight train 3 times a week (since December 2006).

I am very interested in Muay Thai and have been looking for a school local to me but so far no luck. The instructor at the grappling gym said he could teach me Muay Thai privately (for £20 an hour!!) but I would much rather train it in a class room environment. There is an MMA class at the grappling gym which I might try out.

Maybe it is just a phase I am going through with my Wing Chun training or maybe I have come to a realisation. I feel if I quit Wing Chun now it would be a waste of the last 4 and 1/2 years but at the same time if I am not totally happy, why keep wasting time?

One of my long term goals in life is to teach self defence in some capacity, I am an avid reader and fan of Geoff Thompson and his principles.

Help!

2. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter