Learning self taught martial arts

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by oooride, Jun 14, 2003.

1. oooride

oooride New Member

I'm very interested in learning martial arts but I do not currently have enough finances to pay for a formal instruction. Is it possible to teach myself and learn martial arts by a book or is it ridiculously unlikely ?

If unlikely, what is the worst aspect(s) of self taught martial arts ? Learning bad and/or wrong habits ?

If it is possible, can anyone recommend any book(s) by a quality author/ sensei ?

Thanks for any responses/comments in advance.

2. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter

Yes - it's ridiculously unlikely.

Try your local Judo or Boxing club - both a usually very reasonably priced.

Failing that - wait until Sepetember - give me somewhere to sleep for 6 nights & I'll teach you for free :D

*Blatant hotel cost saving move by YODA LOL!

3. oooride

oooride New Member

Yoda,

lol :)

What's a good form of martial arts to start learning ? Judo ? I 'see' a lot of 'branches' of martial arts mentioned throughout the forums, however I have not seen any pertaining to kung-fu and it's different styles.

There are beginner levels in kung-fu, correct ? Meaning, is it possible to learn kung-fu without knowing any other 'form' of martial arts ? Reason being, I have a place near me that teaches kung-fu with an emphasis on the style crane (I believe that's it, sound right ?) and have thought about inquiring it's monthly fees. It would be good because they also have a full gym. Since I lift weights a lot I would have to give up one membership but I cannot give up lifting (huge stress reliever and many health benefits), would learning kung-fu be a prudent choice ? Or is there another 'branch' of martial arts that should be started on from a beginner point of view ?