Kudo Headgear!

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Toe-Job, Feb 17, 2010.

1. Toe-Job

Toe-Job Valued Member

Hi All,

Just wanted to pick everyones thoughts on the Daido Juku (Kudo) Space helmet.

My background is predominantly Taekwondo based (5th Dan) but have fused other arts that I've trained and currently training in such as Mauy Thai clinch work and the Grappling from Brazilian Juijitsu into the system to make it well rounded.

In short its a mixed system with a tradiional martial arts background on the same lines as Machida Karate / Kudo / Gong Kwon Yusul to make a comparison!

We have been using the Kudo Headgears but have come up with a few issues.

Cons

1 They are quite pricey - Playwell are the cheapest that I can find!

2 Allot of students find them quite claustrophobic and cant wear them.

3 They steam up! (If you put washing up liquid on the inside this seems to sort that out though)

4 Very hard to breath

5 Fall off when grappling

6 Starting to fall apart after 6 months use

7 Can only do 3 x 5 Minute rounds max in them before completely gassed

Pros

1 Can attack the head with harder contact without facial injury

2 Good for self defence clinch training with the use of head-butts elbows and knees

Has anyone used these head-gears? I'd like to know your thoughts!

Also does anyone else blend the grappling arts with the striking arts, if so, how do you train it, what safety equipment do you use and what contact levels?

This is the rule set we use without the headgear:

Striking Standing

Punches to Head allowed Light - Medium Contact

Punches to body allowed Light - Medium Contact

Leg Kicks allowed Light - Medium Contact

Body Kicks Allowed Light - Medium Contact

Head Kicks Allowed including face Light - Medium Contact

Knees to body & legs allowed Light - Medium Contact

Striking in Clinch

Knees and Punches to body only Light - Medium Contact

Striking on Ground

Knees and Punches to body Light - Medium Contact

Knees to legs