Korean or Japanese sword stylist

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by the Old Wolf, May 3, 2007.

1. the Old Wolf

the Old Wolf New Member

Greetings,
    I am new on this list and am interested in talking with others who are actively practicing swordsmanship. I have practiced both japanese and korean styles of swordsmanship and at present run a small (very small) school in central North Carolina.
    Let me know who's out there.

2. Sukerkin

Sukerkin Valued Member

Hi Wolf

Your age suggests that you're not a 'teen wannabe fishing for spurious kudos, so, welcome to MAP :D.

There's a small clique of knowledgable JSA practitioners here (not so sure about the Korean angle) so I suspect that you'll find someone to talk to ... including me :D.

I'm a beginner really (shodan muso jikiden eishin ryu iaido) but I'm learning to enjoy passing on the fragments I know to new starters. Learning that what I know changes as I advance is actually an enjoyable part of the process i.e. understanding changing perception of what you already know physically.

I am attending a grading next weekend but I will be surprised if Nidan comes quite so soon.

3. Capt Ann

Capt Ann Valued Member

Greetings, Wolfe! Welcome to MAP and happy posting!

There are a few, but not many Korean sword practitioners on this board. I happen to be one. I study a mix of haedong kumdo and daehan kumdo (kendo), with some other elements thrown in. Hopefully I'll be testing for my 1st Dan in haidong gumdo in November.

I am really impressed with the knowledge and experience of the western sword enthusiasts on this forum. They also provide a wealth of information, much of which is relevant to our arts.

All-in-all, there's a great mix of styles and experiences in various sword arts represented on this forum. Enjoy, and please add your knowledge/experience to it!

4. ember

ember Valued Member