Kihon Uke Kata

Discussion in 'Karate' started by JonWal, Aug 17, 2012.

1. JonWal

JonWal Valued Member

Hi guys, Firstly, sorry for creating a new thread, I've checked through both Video threads and looked at many videos on Youtube. I'm a beginner learning Wado Ryu, I've only attended 3 lessons so far, but thoroughly enjoying the classes. Last night we practised 2 Kata, Kihon Uke and Pinan Shodan.

I'm not a fast learner and tend to learn things, by repetition, probably as Im untrained so youtube is a great help for me. Secondly as Im thick! :D

I've managed to find an a clip of the Pinan Shodan Kata which matches what I practiced last night, however the Kihon Uke I did last night only involved lower block, head block, outer block inner block. Which I cannot find a clip of anywhere. The ones I can find for Kihon Uke include punches, which is not part of the Kata im required to learn. Does anyone know where I can find a clip or directions online, or point me in the direction.

Cheers, Jon

2. Llamageddon

Llamageddon MAP's weird cousin Supporter

Sorry, so you're looking for videos of the different blocks?

3. JonWal

JonWal Valued Member

Not really, its the 4 blocks put in a Kata. 8 moves in total .

Lower block, head block, outer block, inner block, in that sequence but turning to face different directions after each block is performed. then repeated (so 8 blocks in total).

I can remember the blocks, but not which direction I need to turn to perform the Kata correctly.

4. Llamageddon

Llamageddon MAP's weird cousin Supporter

I've just PMed a wado guy on here who will hopefully be able to help you out soon.

5. JonWal

JonWal Valued Member

Thanks mate, really appreciate the help.

6. Shotokan_Andy

Shotokan_Andy Valued Member

Could this be something your instructor has put together to help students 1. learn the basics, and 2. get used to doing things in a sequence?

I trained Wado many years ago, and have never heard of Kihon Uke Kata.