Kicking

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Silver_no2, Jul 10, 2002.

1. Silver_no2

Silver_no2 Avenging Angel

Given that this is my hundredth post I thought I would mark the occassion with a thread that will probably lead to me being villified and given a kicking.

I have been studying a MA for a little over two years. I only study the one (shodakan aikido) but I have managed to watch several others and took part in the now infamous Heriot-Watt Uni X-Training day, and it was through these that I arrived at the conclusion which I am about to disclose.

Before I begin I would just like to put in a few disclaimers:
    This is my own opinion, not that of my instuctor/club/art
    I may well be completely wrong
    I am not trying to offend anybody or their art

And so it begins........

I have been taught that your balance has to be maintained at all times while sparring/fighting/training etc otherwise you will be in a weakened position and your opponent/enemy will take you out (and I don't mean for dinner:D ). This is also common sense - if you are off balance then your techniques will not have the power in them that they should have and your ability to fight effectively is vastly reduced.

If this is taken as being true, as I believe it is, then any art that involves kicking is, in reality, teaching it's students to be at a disadvantage.

Unless the first kick knocks out your opponent/attacker then you are automatically in a detrimental position. If you do not land that perfect kick, which does seem quite a hard thing to do, you are in trouble because you are standing on one leg!. I have been kicked square in the chest while involved in a fight. It did hurt, but it didn't put me down or back me off sufficiently and I closed with the guy and asked him not to do it again.