Khong Chang - Tribute to the Founder

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by inthespirit, Jan 29, 2009.

1. inthespirit

inthespirit ignant

One of my earlier experiences with MA was with Master Tan who founded Khong Chang in Singapore. I studied with him for around 3-4 years when I was younger. I just found out he recently past away and thought I'd make a little tribute. Great man and great teacher!

R.I.P.

[​IMG]

P.S. I have never come across any Khong Chang practitioners outside Singapore, if there are any on MAP, do chime in.

2. sifu rodger

sifu rodger New Member

i teach khong chang in newzealand. in a small town called wairoa .i also obtain my black belt with master tan grading me for it .when he was in nz in 2004.its been in nz for good 35 years.iam now a first degree black belt and had my own class for 2 years but been teaching for 6 years

3. inthespirit

inthespirit ignant

Thanks for chiming in sifu rodger. Nice to see another practitioner.

4. Nat H

Nat H New Member

Hello Sifu Rodger my name is Nathaniel i was in Sifu Pauls class in wairoa from 2003-2005 i still practice today to keep fit but only up to black belt level, since leaving the school to raise my kids ( what a mission) ive tried aikedo, taikwondo and traditional karate( met Grand master Hanshi ) however i miss the Khong Chang art i guess it was the great class mates, intense training and fun times limping around, it is sad to hear Master Tan is gone i was hoping he would train me to reach a high teaching level when i went to singapore so i could begin a new school, meet my chinese family there and experience training with him, when i left wairoa i wasnt ready to start a school like Sifu Paul said but thats ok i still got to black belt say hi to all the class mates that remain at the schools in wairoa.

R.I.P Grand Master Tan.

5. Wutaam

Wutaam New Member