Junior Aikido

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Shinkei, Apr 26, 2011.

1. Shinkei

Shinkei Valued Member

I have been teaching juniors Aikido for many years. Obviously we have to adapt some of the techniques due to the age of the Aikido. I started Aikido as a 14 year old and continued to practice for over 36 years.

We teach the juniors kata kakarigeiko & ninindori.

What are other instructors thoughts on teaching juniors.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sk5TQTARCtE"]YouTube - Tomiki Aikido with Shaun Hoddy Junior students practicing Randori No Kata January 2011[/ame]

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLM4R8ikYPs&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL"]YouTube - Tomiki Aikido in Canvey Island with Shaun Hoddy 6th Dan[/ame]

2. philipsmith

philipsmith Valued Member

I also started as a junior and run a junior class of about 15-20.

It's great fun, keeps me on my toes and has improved my instruction drastically.

To me why not teach kids - you can learn a lot from doing so.

3. Aikidojomofo

Aikidojomofo Valued Member

Wish I had started at a younger age

Looks like a really good class you run there Shinkei. Some of those kids would put me to shame! :(

4. Polar Bear

Polar Bear Moved on

Well ... children and knife defense is a no no in my opinion in general. Teaching children in a fashion that will get them killed well I would be unsure I could sleep at night.

The Bear.

5. izumizu

izumizu Banned Banned

Dunno, Bear, I can see where you are comming from, but to not have taught the skills you posess given the same circumstances, and outcome and I'm not sure I could sleep at night.

Not sure about the neighborhoods you live in, but a knife attack by one child attacking another is a real possibility around here. Of course, firearm safety is a good thing to know, but I'll leave that for home based education...

6. Polar Bear

Polar Bear Moved on