Jungle Fever

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Matsufubu, Aug 29, 2006.

1. Matsufubu

Matsufubu Valued Member

Ceau guys,

New poster but long-time lurker, found MAP through Bullshido (oh noes!), but I now belong to both, as I think MAP has some good discussion to offer (and some dumb ninjas too, but hey).

My background is that of a childhood judoka who lost interest as a teenager. After uni started looking for MA again.

Joined the Bujinkan but there was too much rubbish taught and I didn't like some of the things the instructor was doing. I took up judo as well to supplement my taijutsu, and this quickly made me realise that what I was learning in the Bujinkan was almost entirely useless. Judo really drummed into me the importance of 'alive' training over 'deadly' techniques. So I'm afraid that I don't have a very high opinion of the Bujinkan, but as I said - it's down to the training methods. FYI I achieved 8th kyu but didn't get graded for a year due to the instructor teaching sanchin to kids forever and a day and neglecting students who'd already graded (e.g. ME!) Due to my experience in the Bujinkan and subsequent training in other MA's, I take a keen interest in Bujinkan discussions, especially claims to ninjahood and 'too deadly to spar' posters.

Moved away after a few months so I didn't get to grade in judo (I was junior black as child but it had been over a decade since I'd trained so I decided to be realistic and went in as a total n00b), and spent AGES trying to find another judo dojo in the area. No such luck - only TKD and shotokan karate in the area, so I just looked further afield.