Jujitsu equivalent in Shuaijiao; A throw

Discussion in 'Ju Jitsu' started by Syd, Jan 9, 2004.

1. Syd

Syd 1/2 Dan in Origami

Hey all.

While I'm still on the hunt for a JJJ school I am studying quite a bit of Shuaijiao (Chinese Fast Wrestling) which has some very nast throws. I came across this one particular throw which I just love and wondered if anyone knows of an equivalent in JJJ?

Here's the set up. The attacker attacks with a left heel kick. The reciever performs a block/catch and quickly swings 180 (with back to attacker) ducking under the attackers left leg, into a half squat. Now whilst still holding onto the attackers leg, the reciever pulls the attackers heel (The attackers left leg is now over the recievers right shoulder with the attackers posterior knee hinging over the receivers shoulder) firmly into his chest and rotates forwards pulling down and lifting through the back whilst holding onto attackers lower leg and face planting attacker into the ground in a pretty ugly throw.

Ofcourse all of this has to be done with maximum speed, co-ordination and timing. If you don't know what the move looks like or I have explained it poorly try and imagine what someone looks like when they ride a bycycle and they hit something which pitches them face forward into the pavement... kind of like that but instead of a bike being beneath them, it's a person throwing them... with a smile on their face;). In Shuaijiao this move is called "Holding one leg, carrying over the shoulder throw"

Best, Syd ;)

Last edited: Jan 9, 2004
  2. Aegis

Aegis River Guardian Admin Supporter

doesn't sound too familiar to be honest. Most of what we do is a lot more direct, not requiring quite so much moving around and intricate positioning. About the closest I could think of was kata-garuma (shoulder wheel), but that's like a fireman's lift and only requires a 90 degree turn.

3. Syd

Syd 1/2 Dan in Origami

Aegis,