jnp from Bullshido says hi

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by jnp, Jun 6, 2013.

1. jnp

jnp Valued Member

Hi, my name is John Palmer. I am a moderator on Bullshido.

I have trained BJJ for twelve years in Austin, TX. As a consequence, I have become somewhat adept at hugging other people in pajamas. I started training BJJ at 32 years of age. I am now 44 and somewhat rickety. In high school and, to a very limited extent in college, I was a wrestler.

I do my best to take neither the internet, or myself, too seriously.

Ok, I think that's enough autobiographical stuff for now. If anyone has any questions for me, or about BS, I will do my best to answer them.

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP.

3. Guitar Nado

Guitar Nado Valued Member

Welcome John!

I am 45 and can identify with being somewhat rickety. In your opinion, is BJJ something that gets harder to do as you age a bit? All the guys I personally know that are around my age that have done it are always on break from it due to some injury - but they are pretty much "dabblers".

BTW - I would add that I have found BS to be a useful resource, and occasionally entertaining.

4. OwlMAtt

OwlMAtt Armed and Scrupulous

Hey, JNP. You'll find a few Bullies here, including myself.

5. jnp

jnp Valued Member

In my opinion, it is the lowest contact "combat sport" out there. Compare it to Judo, an art where you get thrown to the mat on a constant basis, or Muay Thai and kickboxing, where you get hit regularly.

However, there are several mitigating factors. The two most prominent being how you approach training and how your training partners approach it. When people first start grappling, they typically feel like they are "drowning in it". In other words, they don't know what to do or how to react. Most people try to compensate for this by exerting maximum physical effort. It is very easy to get hurt when "going full speed"