JJ and Karate

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by JamesR, Dec 7, 2011.

1. JamesR

JamesR Valued Member

I have been practising JJJ for about 9 months now and have been looking at other styles to cross train in. Been looking at Kickboxing or BJJ but was wondering about Karate.

Will the two styles clash? Or will they go well together?

2. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

3. JamesR

JamesR Valued Member

Pretty sure it's Juko Ryu JJJ? Might be wrong though...

4. OwlMAtt

OwlMAtt Armed and Scrupulous

Obviously, karate and jujutsu are very different arts. Karate generally is almost all standing and primarily a striking/kicking art, very different from jujutsu. But if you've only been training for nine months, that's probably a good thing. Most martial arts instructors I know say that cross-training works better for beginners if the two arts are very different from one another.

5. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

Nine months and you're still unsure?

I'd hope your teacher would have give you the run down on what it is you are learning.

Got a website?

Like the others have said mixing arts can be tricky and it's going to depend on what you're doing.

6. Moosey

Moosey invariably, a moose Supporter

Yeah, I think they'd go very well together. The ability to do some hard striking should complement your jiujutsu nicely and many of the cultural and linguistic traditions will cross over and make it feel familiar. To be honest, I think specifically aiming for wado karate would be pointless as the "extras" that wado brings to the table (i.e. the jiujutsu techniques and principles) will be covered in your JJ anyway. I'd just try and pick one of the big four Japanese styles (shoto, wado, ****o, goju), or maybe one of the knockdown styles if you fancy a challenge, and stay away from "Uncle Bob's karate ninja warehouse" and you should do fine.

7. Dean Winchester

lol @ Uncle Bob's karate ninja warehouse.