Improving speed and power?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Nightwolf, Jun 19, 2003.

1. Nightwolf

Nightwolf New Member

Hi there, I'm 18 and I'm new to martial arts, I've started learning Qwan Ki Do a few months ago. So I have some questions to ask. I want to improve the speed and power of my strikes, punches and kicks.
    I've "trained" my fist so now I can hit a hard surface with some power with out hurting me too much. But I want my punches to be even harder. At the classes when I hit someone and he blocks my strike he isn't affected too much. So I want to develop some strikes that can destroy somebody's guard and throw him on the ground.
    But I don't know exactly how to train, what kind of exercises to do and for what group of muscles. So if you know some techniques that can help me please share them with me. And maybe you can also give me some hints on how to improvise some gear so I can work at home.

I thank you from now to those who will help me;

2. Marku

Marku Banned Banned

By sounds of it your speed and power is ok, Perhaps its your mind you have to train. Quicker reactions.
    Dont ever think "This technique will work for sure"
    Dont let him complete any techniques on you(Locks which take a couple seconds to complete, kick his leg or something to distract him)
    Thats all i can think of atm. It might not be what u want but this sort of thing might help anyway. Goodluck. Things like excerises are what i was thinking a minute ago of looking for (Especially for my legs)

3. pesilat

pesilat Active Member

Interestingly, I'm currently writing an article about this very subject :)