If you could only buy one Kenpo DVD set which would it be?

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by MaxG, Aug 28, 2005.

1. MaxG

MaxG Valued Member

I'm very interested in trying out the Kenpo style but unfortunately there are no Kenpo teachers in my area. Well there is one but he is not affiliated with any organization and it seems to be just a mix of different martial arts he's taken and called it Kenpo-Jiujitsu.

So I was thinking about getting some DVD's. I know that I'll never get the type of training that I can from these at a regular school but I mainly want to get exposure to the art.

I have trained in different arts/sports for about 10 years so I'm not a beginner trying to learn from scratch. I believe that some of my previous training will help a great deal in interpreting the system. Hopefully if a Kenpo instructor does become available in my area I'll have a little better understanding if I decide to join him.

Anyone heard any things about the set from Grandmaster Adrian "Chief" Roman? or Master Tabatabai? Nick Cerio's looks pretty cheap but I don't think that set has all the forms and such.

Thanks for the help.

2. gentlegiant6685

gentlegiant6685 New Member

Try looking up IKCA on google. It should get you to the web site which is a good one and was the first to do video/long distance learning. I studied many styles on and off (22years for what it's worth) including kenpo, and ordered there kenpo tapes. It's a much leaner/cut back system than the kenpo I learned, which I like. I really liked their philoshophy of not having too many techniques fighting you and being able to create techniques on the fly. Learning by tape is not easy, even with experience, but it is do-able. I liked the system enough that I enrolled in a IKCA school nearby, and really enjoy it. The tapes will give you the whole system, or you can get them one belt at a time. You must find a partner to train with though, or you will never get the full benefit of the art. Good luck.