I want learn grappling

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Hapuka, May 10, 2015.

1. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

As my wrestling skills are pretty much next to nothing, I want to be able to learn how to protect myself if I hit the floor. I would like to do a style that incorperates throws, locks and chokes. I have two styles to choose from in my area; BJJ and freestyle wrestling. I would love to do both, but I can only choose one due to other commitments. What are the strengths, pros an cons of each art and what can I expect to learn from either of them?

2. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

I'm a grappling expert, so I say do taekwondo.

3. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

BJJ is the only one of those two options that incorporates submissions.

4. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Freestyle wrestling is the one that will keep you standing in a fight.

5. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

Been there, done that. :rolleyes:

6. kuntaoer

kuntaoer Valued Member

Judo works wonders when you want to peel someone off of you and let them get to know mother earth from on high

7. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

Speaking as a judoka - if that was your aim, wrestling is a better option.

8. Mangosteen

Mangosteen Hold strong not

wrestling. i think it will fit well with your weapons work (the other polynesian styles also practice wrestling and its popular during makahiki)

it wont havent submissions but it will have a great emphasis on stand up, positioning and pinning.

also the investment cost (fees, uniform etc) is much much lower in BJJ than wrestling.

but why not try both classes?

9. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

Oh, you were one of those students... yeah, maybe something easier like grappling or cross-stitching is better for you.

10. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo