I like boxing

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by quasar44, Jan 7, 2020.

1. quasar44

quasar44 New Member

It blows away MT for defense and footwork

However I don’t like sparring too much because the opp Always goes insane

With MT the sparing was always controlled

2. Monkey_Magic

Monkey_Magic Well-Known Member

Irrespective whether it’s MT or boxing, I don’t think anyone should be going insane in sparring. IMO, sparring requires control.

Also, didn’t you say earlier that wrestling’s the best system?

Grond and ned like this.
  3. Morik

Morik Well-Known Member Supporter MAP 2017 Gold Award

There are trade-offs when comparing different arts.
    Muay Thai has a lot broader content than boxing--more places you are allowed to hit an opponent, so more types of strikes and more places to defend.

(Disclaimer: I am not an expert on boxing, but do have a bit of Muay Thai knowledge.)
    Someone who learns boxing (well) should have strong footwork and evasive movement. They will be especially good at evading punches when in punching range, at making angles and attacking with punches.
    But they will not have strong defenses against kicks, which are longer ranges. This isn't to say that they will just fall over immediately against someone who is good at kicking. But it won't be a situation the boxer is very familiar with, the range of engagement will be a bit different than they are used to, etc.
    One of the ways boxers add power to their strikes involves very strong torquing on some strikes. This can leave you vulnerable to strikes that aren't legal in boxing (so it isn't an issue for the sport).
    Again, that isn't to say that punching that way is bad necessarily, but if all of your hook punches leave you exposed to a leg kick counter, an opponent may pick up on that and exploit it.