How to improve my footwork ?

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by MindTricks, Sep 27, 2012.

1. MindTricks

MindTricks Valued Member

I do it ok when i try it at home but when im at the gym i always seem to fail =/ i cross my legs, use wrong leg or fail to spin on my ball feet all the time. Is there any good repetitive exercises that i can do every day at home ? i want to be able to move correctly naturally with out thinking about it and concentrate on other stuff.

thanks in advice

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Moving round a heavy bag does wonders. Just repetition, repetition, repetition.

3. MindTricks

MindTricks Valued Member

cool, i cant wait for my bag to arrive ! so there no specific route or reps ? just random practice ? or i should try and come up with something my self ?

sorry i am new to this xD

4. Teflon

Teflon Valued Member

For me it helps a lot to just practice whenever possible. Footwork is something you can practice at any time during the day, anywhere. All you need is room to move around, and a few minutes to do so. I think it helps build the habit.

I'm unsure on why the bad habits are coming back only in the gym, perhaps you need to relax a bit more? Could also just be that you're being forced to move quicker or in different ways to when you practice. Drilling regularly will help you get more comfortable with it, you'll eventually have alarm bells ringing in your head whenever your legs cross or stance becomes too narrow/wide etc

5. Kuma

Kuma Lurking about

Just work the box drill for footwork regularly and try some shadow boxing with only footwork as part of your warm-up.

6. 6footgeek

6footgeek Meow

look up the basic theory of footwork if you haven't already studied it. Its very basic, really.