how can people say aikido isnt effective?

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Skribe, Jan 30, 2006.

1. Skribe

Skribe New Member

k so... remember im still a newb.. 6 months training so far but.. in the last class i went to we did this move where (forgive me for not knowing the name of it) it pretty much starts off as a knife stab to the gut.. you tenkan to the outside of it with yer hand pointed up at about their palm level... after that you grab their hand and do a kinda curl i guess it is... after that ya grab what i believe is kotigishes(sp!!!!) with yer other hand and use the orginal arm to apply pressure with yer elbow onto theirs... pretty much all ya gotta do is drop yer body with yer weight on their elbow and they go down with ya till they tap

well my sensai showed us the follow up to that... if you were to not get the elbow part down fast enough and they were to come up to strike ya... pretty much all ya do is hook their elbow and pull it to yer waste as you fall down...that plus the crank on the wrist really hurts (i know because the guy i was doing it with had the crank going as he fell down... and uhh oww lol) now i can just imagine what would have happend if this guy had my hand really cranked and fell with force (course after that theirs another twist where his arm would be hurtin more but you get the idea... i hope (dun think i explained it too well)

so pretty much 2 questions... what is that called? lol and how can anyone see/feel that and think if it was used in a fight that it wouldnt be very helpful?

-Yellow belt and a half, Skribe

2. leeless

leeless Handshaker extraordinaire

In terms of self-defence, when people criticize Aikido, they criticize the training rather than the techniques themselves. If you demonstrated Nikkyo on someone, no doubt they would say "YES! That technique works!". But most people I know argue that to actually get into the position to apply it is very difficult, thereby ineffective.